Brady vs. Rodgers in Lambeau: A Battle of the Bays

Aaron Rodgers and Tom Brady meet at midfield after their battle in 2014 where Rodgers’ Packers won 26-21. (Photo Credit: Green Bay Packers Website)

(GREEN BAY, Wis.) — To understand the case for Tom Brady as the greatest quarterback in NFL history, one can look at this season alone.

Brady is back in a conference championship game for the 14th time in his career. He has taken the Buccaneers to the playoffs for the first time since 2007. Brady has thrown for 4633 yards and 40 touchdowns this season. The tribulations he has overcome at age 43, among other reasons, cement his legacy as one of the greatest athletes of all time.

First, let’s address the elephant in the room. Tom Brady has won six Super Bowls. To place that historic statistic in perspective, that’s more than every other franchise in the NFL except the Pittsburgh Steelers. Brady has not only won six Super Bowls, but he has gone to nine.

Brady ranks first all time in passing yards (including the postseason) and passing touchdowns. He ranks second in all time pass completions, first in all time winning drives (including the postseason), first in most postseason fourth quarter comebacks, and first in postseason passing yards. Brady holds more than 20 NFL records.

In his first season with the Tampa Bay Buccaneers after 20 years with the New England Patriots, Brady went 11-5, throwing 40 touchdowns to 12 interceptions. The Buccaneers made the playoffs as a wild card and won their first two matchups against the Washington Football Team and New Orleans Saints.

Brady and his Buccaneers go on the road Sunday for the NFC Championship Game to face the top-seeded Green Bay Packers. The Buccaneers faced the Packers earlier in the season, routing them 38-10. For Tampa Bay, they are riding a six game winning streak in which they’ve averaged 34.8 points per game. The Packers are the best scoring offense in the NFL. Green Bay quarterback Aaron Rodgers leads the league in touchdowns and remains the favorite to win the NFL’s MVP award with 48 touchdown passes to five interceptions.

The Buccaneers look to win their third straight playoff game and return to the Super Bowl for the first time since the 2002 season. (Photo Credit: Tampa Bay Buccaneers Website)


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s