Students and Teachers Honored at Academic Awards Ceremony

Recipients of the Order of Saint LaSalle Service award (Photo Credit- Spence Gremillion)


(COVINGTON, La.) — There are many students at St. Paul’s that go above and beyond the average in their high school careers. These students are recognized at an annual event at St. Paul’s- the Academic Awards Ceremony.

At this ceremony, the valedictorians and salutatorians were announced for the year. The valedictorians for the 2108-19 school year are Johnathan Bertucci, Joshua Devier, Beau Franklin, Cullen Irwin, Andrew Norlin, Michael Philippe, Joshua Rovira, and Chris Wilson.

The salutatorians are Luke Paille, Ross Hightower, Jackson Gold, Nicholas Briggs, and Jack Schwarts.

Winners of the Superior Academics Gold award (Photo Credit- Spence Gremillion)

Superior Academics Gold awards were handed out to all grade levels for going above and beyond what they were expected to academically achieve, and there were 15 recipients across all grade levels. National Merit Finalists were also announced, students scoring in the 99% percentile on the PSAT. National Merit Finalists included Jackson Gold, Hyde Healy, Ross Hightower, Cullen Irwin, Stephen Millet, David Needles, Andrew Norlin, and Chris Wilson.

One of the core values of St. Paul’s is “Concern For the Poor and Social Justice”, a value that the school pursues through various extracurricular clubs. The order of Saint La Salle award is given to those who live out this principle, and over twenty students received the award for contributing 100 or more hours of service. Habitat hammers were given out by math and engineering teacher Richard Pichon to students who were most dedicated to building houses for Habitat For Humanity. The American Legion and District Attorney also gave out awards to four students.

Several teachers were commemorated for their years of service at St. Paul’s. Coach Matt Pinero and Audrey Pool were applauded for five years at St. Paul’s while Coach Dart and Andrew Moran celebrated 10 years at St. Paul’s. Brother Rich Kovatch and Coach Dickens have been at teaching here for 15 years. Three faculty members have been here for 20 years: Jan Gardner, Richard Pichon, and Coach Pierre. Only one teacher is celebrating 25 years at St. Paul’s, Pam Cullen.

Mark Richards receiving his award from President Brother Ray Bulliard F.S.C. (Photo Credit- Spence Gremillion)

The Brother Charles award is given to the teacher that best represents how Brother Charles acted as a mentor for students at St. Paul’s School. This year the winner of the Brother Charles Award was given out to science teacher Mark Richards. As the eighth-grade science teacher, Mark Richards has instructed thousands of students in his time at St. Paul’s.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s