Class of 2017 Graduation Brings Year to a Close

Graduates throw their caps following their final rendition of the “St. Paul’s Fight Song” while still attending the school. (Photo: Karen Hebert)
The program issued to graduates and attendees for the commencement of the class of 2017. (Photo courtesy: The President’s Hebdomadal Newsletter)

(COVINGTON, La.) — Following both exam week and two meticulous practices, the St. Paul’s class of 2017 had been deemed qualified for the 106th annual commencement exercise, which occurred on Saturday, May 13, 2017, at 4 p.m. in the Briggs Assembly Center.

As per tradition, the ceremony was performed in the style of a Mass led by celebrant Rev. Matthew Clark, OSB. The Master of Ceremonies was Principal Trevor Watkins, the Conferrer of Diplomas was school President Bro. Ray Bulliard, FSC., and all was accompanied by organist and SPS religion teacher Bro. Ken Boesch, FSC.

During their commencement, which ran about two hours and 15 minutes, many of the graduates-to-be felt relief and excitement for finally completing their high school careers.

“I feel old in that a chapter of my life is over,” graduate Ethan Hopel said. “But, I am excited for the new chapter to follow.”

The class of 2017 had 168 members, 10 of them being legacy graduates, and 48 of them graduating with honors. In order to graduate with honors, the student must finish his career with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

Yehia Elkersh is handed his Student of The Year for the State of Louisiana Award by mayor of Covington Mike Cooper. (Photo courtesy: Karen Hebert/Expressions Photography)

Four valedictorians: Thomas Carriere, Yehia Elkersh, Lloyd Guillot, and Alexander Oliveri; as well as three salutatorians: William Murphy, Andrew Grasshoff, and Max Tepper were congratulated at the ceremony for their high school prowess.

Three major awards were issued to members of the departing class: Yehia Elkersh recieved the

Reagan Hill receives his Provincial’s award from Bro. Jerry Vincent, FSC. (Photo courtesy: Karen Hebert/Expressions Photography)

award granted to the Student of The Year For the State of Louisiana, the Signum Fidei award was issued to Andrew Grashoff, and the Privincial’s Award was accepted by Reagan Hill.

For those confined to the home, or simply unable to attend, the school’s Geurilla Wolves video club has provided a stream of the Senior Graduation on their Youtube channel free-of-charge. The club has been doing this since the graduation of the class of 2015, and the entire ceremony can be viewed below.


RELATED STORY: Post-Graduate Plans Reveal Prospects of Newest SPS Alumni

Watch the graduation ceremony video:

One comment


Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s