Students Represent SPS Well in State Literary Rally, Science Fair

Joshua Devier shows off his honorable mention-winning project in the Cellular and Molecular Biology category. (Photo by Cindy Franklin)

(COVINGTON, La.)–This year, St. Paul’s School has taken home various state champion awards. State champion wrestlers, power-lifters, and soccer players have all brought trophies back to campus. Recently, many St. Paul’s students participated in the District Literary Rally, District Science Fair and even qualified for state. Now that the state academica competitions are over, it is evident how SPS academics holds up to its sports.

SPS students that qualified for the State Science Fair’s Senior Division (grades 9-12) were plentiful. Paul Stolin, Alex Paille, Joshua Devier, Shane Strander, Jeffrey Tepper, Alexander Nguyen, Matthew Lyon, Kristian McHugh, Cole Chitwood, Beau Franklin, Andrew Norlan, Luke Vargas and Daniel Nunez all qualified for the state level.

More information on the region level fair, including the full list of participants and the 22 total categories, can be found here.

What resulted from the state fair was another victory for St. Paul’s. The school had four place winners: Paul Stolin won third place in the Biochemistry category with his project “Organisms Versus Oil,” and Joshua Devier won the honorable mention in Cellular and Molecular Biology with his project on the genotoxic and cytotoxic effects of Ginko Biloba on Hydra Littoralis and S2 Drosophilia cells. Lastly, Jeffery Tepper and Shane Strander won fourth place in Chemistry with their project on Eutectics.

Shortly after the success of the State Science Fair, students were once again called upon to represent St. Paul’s at the state Literary Rally at LSU.

“It’s a very daunting thing to be in a room with some of the smartest people in the state,” sophomore participant Beau Franklin said. “However, it was an exhilarating experience to compete with them.”

Regional winners from all over Louisiana set up their projects at the state competition. (Photo by Cindy Franklin)

Again, many students were invited to participate. Evan Cook, Patrick Baldone, Scott Woodward, Cullen Irwin, Isaac Hebert, Joshua Devier, Jack Nunez, Yehia Elkersh, Andrew Smith, Brendon Dauterive, Beau Franklin, Luc Hebert, Lester Guttuso, Max Tepper, Davis Lagarde, and Matthew Algero all qualified for state.

Coverage on the district-level rally can be found here.

Much like the science fair, St. Paul’s students were awarded with considerable victories; nine to be exact. Evan Cook won third in Accounting, Patrick Baldone won first in Advanced Math, Scott Woodard won fourth in Algebra I, Joshua Devier won first in Biology I, Jack Nunez won third in Biology II, Brendon Dauterive won third in English I, Max Tepper won first in Physics, Davis Lagarde won fourth in World Geography, and Matthew Algero won second in World History.

The full list of state Literary Rally winners and categories can be found here.



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s