SPS Student Media Receives State, National Honors

The Paper Wolf’s awards are prominently displayed after their triumphant performance at the Louisiana Scholastic Press Association conference in November. (Photo from The Paper Wolf Twitter)

The St. Paul’s student media program recently received top honors from scholastic press associations at both the state and national level. The Paper Wolf news site and the Guerrilla Wolves broadcast team were both honored by the Louisiana Scholastic Press Association (LSPA) in November. In addition, The Paper Wolf was nationally recognized by the Columbia University Scholastic Press Association (CSPA) in December.

“The student media program at St. Paul’s has been growing and developing in leaps and bounds in recent years,” Journalism teacher Christi Simoneaux said, “and these accolades represent the hard work and talent of a lot of individuals who work well together as a news team. I’m incredibly proud of all of them.”

In a nationwide critique conducted by CSPA throughout the fall semester, The Paper Wolf was judged in three separate categories, earning the Gold Medalist designation for the third consecutive year. In two of the three categories, The Paper Wolf received All-Columbian Honors, the highest designation awarded. In total, The Paper Wolf earned 950 out of 1,000 points, placing the publication in the top 95th percentile among high school digital news sites nationwide.

On a state level, St. Paul’s student media won first place for Best Overall Student Media Program, with a total of 43 individual and group awards, during the LSPA conference held on the Louisiana State University campus on Nov. 5, 2015. These awards came from a combination of onsite competitions in addition to awards for submitted entries from both The Paper Wolf and Guerrilla Wolves.

“I was dazzled by the number of awards your students brought home from LSPA last week,” Jerry Ceppos, Dean of the LSU Manship School of Mass Communication, wrote in a congratulatory letter following the LSPA conference.

At the LSPA conference, The Paper Wolf won first place for Best Online/Digital Newspaper and Best Social Media Presence, as well as third place for Best Newspaper.

“In the ‘Best Newspaper’ category, there are a number of criteria that we don’t meet because The Paper Wolf, despite the name, is not a printed publication,” Simoneaux said. “The fact that the Paper Wolf staff scored enough points to earn third place with the writing alone is quite impressive.”

Members of the St. Paul's Student media proudly display their First Place Overall trophy on the steps of the LSU Student Union following the LSPA Conference. (photo by John Meyer)
Members of the St. Paul’s student media proudly display the First Place Overall trophy on the steps of the LSU Student Union following the LSPA Conference in November.
(photo courtesy John Meyer)

LSPA Newspaper Awards – The Paper Wolf

In total, Paper Wolf staff members won 35 individual awards for writing, photography and graphics, placing first in 21 of 28 eligible categories, as well as sweeping first through third in both the “News Writing” and “Advance News Story” categories. The news team was led by Managing Editor Nick Ashton, who personally took home 12 awards.

News Writing:

Advance News Story:

News Editorial:

News Feature Writing:

In-Depth Individual Writing:

In-Depth Team Writing:

News/Spot Photography:

Feature Photograph:

Wild or Spot Photo:

Sports Photo:

Photo Essay:

Sports Profile:

Sports Feature:

Sports Column:

Reader’s Aids:

LSPA Broadcast Awards – Guerrilla Wolves

The Guerrilla Wolves broadcast news team came away with four awards for their weekly segments of Guerrilla Wolves News.

Sportscast – 1st Place:

Sports Feature – 3rd Place:

Videography – 2nd Place:

Newscast – 3rd Place:

LSPA Onsite Competition Awards

The onsite awards were awarded to winning students who participated in a variety of programs during the day throughout the LSPA conference. The contests ranged from cutline and headline writing to editing news stories for grammar and AP (Associated Press) Style.

Copy Editing

  • 1st Place – Nick Ashton
  • Honorable Mention – AJ LaCroix

News Writing

  • 1st Place – Nick Ashton
  • 2nd Place – Luc Hebert

Broadcast Writing

  • 1st Place – Parker Layman
  • 2nd Place – Nick Ashton

Photo Editing

  • 3rd Place – Jordan Kliebert



Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s